Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content



The Australian curriculum: English foundation to year 10 is organised into three interrelated strands that support students' growing understanding and use of standard Australian English (English). Together the three strands focus on developing students’ knowledge, understanding and skills in listening, reading, viewing, speaking and writing. The three strands are:

  • Language: knowing about the English language
  • Literature: understanding, appreciating, responding to, analysing and creating literature
  • Literacy: expanding the repertoire of English usage.


Junior school

English (prep–year 6)

Junior secondary

English (years 7-9)

Senior secondary

English (years 10-12)

English communication (years 11-12)

Special features and programs

Prep–year 6 reading framework: developed to ensure the delivery of a balanced and effective reading program that recognises that learning to read is a developmental process. The ultimate aim of the reading framework is to produce confident, competent and independent readers. The framework includes:

  • consistent reading procedures including: reading to students; modelled reading; shared reading; guided reading; and independent reading.
  • explicit teaching of reading conventions (phonological awareness, graphophonics, vocabulary and text form) and comprehension strategies.
  • priority is given to: fluency, vocabulary, comprehension strategies, knowledge of texts and contextual knowledge,


For more information, see the Earnshaw State College subject selection guides.