Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Clean sweep in ABW program final

​Friday 11 September saw the full-day judging and awards of the Brisbane Northside Australian Business Week program at Australian Catholic University.

It was the culmination of eight weeks of work for our students and mentors who met on average four hours per week after school on this project. Teams from four other schools competed in the program: Hillbrook Anglican School (senior), St Columban’s College (senior), Tullawong SHS (senior) and Bray Park State High School (junior).

Results are as follows:

Senior Section (Years 10-11) - ElectricBlu

Overall champion team
Section winner: trade display
Additional awards: corporate image, logo
Manager: Kanya Haines
Best supporting team member: Michael Greathead
Other team members: Madison Ryan, Kurt Somerville, Amy Harvey, Alana Jebb, Zoe Cato-Jenkins, Thomas Lyons
Mentors: Bob Steele, Wes Compton

Junior Section (Years 7-9) –The Lab

Overall champion team
Section winner: simulation, oral presentation, trade display
Additional award: corporate image
Manager: Mackenzie Thomson-Spring
Best supporting team member: Keira Lim
Other team members: Audrey Read, Casey Hughes, Joshua Herbert, Hudson Wildin, Shelton Ndipange
Mentors: Colleen Hills, Fiona Davies, Taylor Andersen 

Junior Section (Years 7-9) - Nerdz

Overall runner up team
Section winner: website
Additional award: innovation, logo
Manager: Boyde Raines
Best supporting team member: John Gorospe
Other team members: Paris De Guzman, Katelyn Campbell, Mitchell Alley, Britney Gomes, Kate Richardson, Mieke Dunn, 
Mentor: Colleen Hills, Fiona Davies, Taylor Andersen

All of our teams received numerous placings in each of the categories: simulation, written report, oral report, trade display, website, corporate image, innovation and logo design. It is the tenth time in thirteen programs that the senior team has won this competition and the fourth time in five programs that the junior team has won.

Congratulations to all of our teams and their mentors. It’s always so amazing to see what students have learned over the course of the program, and over the course of many years' participation. 

Special congratulations to Kanya Haines and Madison Ryan who have now completed their fourth and final ABW program, having been involved since they were in Year 8. Both girls have been in teams who have won three times, Kanya in Years 9-11 and Madison in Years 8, 10 and 11.

My personal thanks to the following staff and other supporters who provided assistance to our teams:

Scott Saxby (print marketing and website mentor)
Matthew Thomas (team materials)
Peter Jamieson and Red Bull Racing Australia (promotional product)
Taylor Andersen and Georgie’s Bar (mentoring and product vouchers)
Rob Mergard and Dancing Bean Espresso (promotional product)
Knudsen’s Better Electrical Virginia (use of facilities, promotional products)
99 Bikes Chermside (use of facilities, promotional products)
BOC Gas and Gear, Virginia (dry ice)
Karen Capps (assistance with ‘sciencey’ things)
Sandra Downing (trade display practice setup)

Colleen Hills
ABW Co-ordinator